Hamilton hosts sixth Behind the Camera Awards


Hamilton held its sixth annual Behind the Camera Awards in Los Angeles at the weekend, celebrating the unsung heroes of filmmaking.

The brand has long-term associations with filmmaking and American cinema, with its watches appearing in more than 350 films, including the recent remake of The Sweeney, Men in Black, Blood Diamond and You’ve Got Mail.


The awards were held on October 28 at the House of Blues in Los Angeles, with the awards presented by “an elite list of award-winning actors, actresses and filmmakers” including Lisa Bonet, Garcelle Beauvais, Harrison Ford, Mena Suvari, Ewan McGregor, Brett Ratner, Paul Dano, Ben Lyons and Lawrence Zarian.

Sylvain Dolla, chief executive of Hamilton International said: “Watchmaking and filmmaking have a lot in common. They both take skill, patience, vision, and commitment. Most of all, they both take passion – the passion to reach and inspire people.

“Over the course of the six decades that we’ve collaborated with filmmakers, we have come to understand that from the props to the set design and from costumes to the screenwriting, all of the hard work done off-screen plays a critical role in creating the fantastic films we see onscreen. Tonight, we proudly acknowledged the special gifts these 14 talented individuals have been given and we thanked them for sharing those gifts with all of us.”

The awards were given to those behind movies that were released during the year or those that otherwise qualified and presented at the film festivals of Cannes, Toronto and Venice as well as at the Festival of the American Film Institute.

The Hamilton Behind the Camera 2012 Awards winners:

Benh Zeitlin for Beasts of the Southern Wild

Zoe Kazan for Ruby Sparks, selected in collaboration with the association DreamAgo

Belen Atienza, Alvaro Augustin, Enrique Lopez Lavigne, and Ghislain Barrois for The Impossible

Production Designer
Sharon Seymour for Argo

Claudio Miranda for Life of Pi

Film Editor
Pietro Scalia for Prometheus

Costume Designer
Judianna Makovsky for The Hunger Games

Property Master
Andrew M. Siegel for The Amazing Spider-Man

Foreign Film

Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano, Directors for The Intouchables

Lifetime Achievement in Film Editing
Michael Kahn for Lincoln


Previous articleDaphne du Maurier’s grandson launches watch brand
Next articleOpus 12 watchmaker to present watch at Salon QP


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here