First Temporis awards names IWC watch of the year


The inaugural Temporis watch awards took place last week in Romania, with an international jury of watch industry personalities including Nick Foulkes and Kari Voutilainen.

The jury chose nominees for each of the nine watch categories after which a voting process took place online.

A total 37 watch brands were nominated including A. Lange & Söhne, Frederique Constant, Jaeger-LeCoultre, Hublot as well as Breguet, Zenith and TAG Heuer.

Story continues below

IWC scooped the coveted Watch of the Year 2012 prize, with its Big Pilot Perpetual Calendar Top Gun timepiece.

The other winning watches included:

Best Man s Quartz Watch 2012 – Seiko Astron

Best Lady’s Quartz Watch 2012 – Edox Grand Ocean Chrono

Best Fashion Watch 2012 – Calvin Klein Cogent

Best Sports Watch 2012 – Chopard Classic Racing Super Fast
Split Seconds

Best Gentleman’s Watch 2012 – Ulysse Nardin Marine
Chronometer Manufacture

Best Lady’s Watch 2012 – A. Lange & Sohne Saxonia Automatic

Best Bargain 2012 – Hublot Classic Fusion Extra Thin Skeleton

Best Complication Watch 2012 – TAG Heuer Mikrogirder

Dan Vardie, founder of Temporis watch magazine said: "It is the first time when a hall of fame of the world’s leading watchmakers is created. A tribute to the watchmaking genius, to the people who create the most fascinating complications, shapes and content. A unique hall of fame for unique people".

Kurt Klaus, the man behind the design of all of IWC’s watches for the last 40 years, attended the gala evening to celebrate the awards in Bucharest, as did Fabienne Lupo, president of the Haute Horologerie Foundation.


Leave a Response

Tags : awardsIWCprizesTemporistimepieceswatch awardswatch of the year
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer